This Week in Story Time – Jon Klassen

This week, an inadvertent secondary theme is hats. This is because my favorite Jon Klassen books are This is Not My Hat and I Want My Hat Back.

Jon Klassen received the 2013 Caldecott Award for the Illustrations in his book This is Not My Hat, a book about a fish that feels confident he will get away with stealing another, much larger, fish’s hat. Klassen has written and Illustrated several books. He has a very distinctive art style with muted, inky colors. His stories are always witty, some having an almost dark humor to them. Here is a sampling of some of his excellent art.

I Want My Hat Back

The Dark by Lemony Snicket

This is Not My Hat

Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett

To explore more of Jon Klassen’s art and adventures, follow him on tumblr here: http://jonklassen.tumblr.com/.

In addition to reading some lovely books by Jon Klassen, we will also be visited by a local author, Lynn Gray.

See you there!

-Miss Amanda

Leave a Reply

